John Suchet, presenter

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Beethoven the Revolutionary: Hans Graf conducts Symphony No. 8

Thursday 23 June 2022, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Beethoven Coriolan: Overture
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1
Beethoven Symphony No. 8


Hans Graf conductor
Jae-Hyuck Cho piano
John Suchet presenter
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Austrian conductor Hans Graf leads an evening comprising some of the most sublime orchestral works Beethoven produced. The theatrical overture to Coriolan opens the concert with dramatic tragedy, portraying the legendary Roman figure who betrayed his own people.

Beethoven’s First Piano Concerto begins with a surprisingly simple opening: a C major chord. There are none of the ornaments and elaborations which would have been familiar to audiences of the time. From this humble start, Beethoven’s huge imagination fills the piece with musical tricks and jokes, navigated on this occasion by soloist Jae-Hyuck Cho.

Eight symphonies in, and gripped by hearing loss, Beethoven was still able to reinvent and recreate. In his Eighth Symphony, he presents another piece filled with twists, turns and surprises, and displays masterstrokes in experimentation. Musicologist Tom Service describes the Symphony as ‘one of the shortest, weirdest, but most compelling symphonies of the 19th century’.

With a short introduction by John Suchet.

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

£45, £42, £35, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

View Seating Plan
ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off top three ticket prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Book all 5 concerts in the Beethoven the Revolutionary series and save 25%.

Concerts in ‘Beethoven: The Revolutionary’ are part of the RPO 2021-22 season series discount

  • Book 2 or 3 concerts and save 15%
  • Book 4 or 5 concerts and save 25%
  • Book 6+ concerts and save 30% (exclusions apply)
View Series
Group Discount

Groups of 6+: save up to 35% – see for details.

Beethoven: The Revolutionary
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra 2021-22 series
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Vaughan Williams and Ravel

Thursday 10 November 2022, 19:30

A moving performance of works that evoke the futility of war and destruction and the final concert in a series with the City of London Choir and RPO that explores the ground-breaking work of Ralph Vaughan Williams in a European context.

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy