Imperial College Symphony Orchestra

Imperial College Symphony Orchestra

Exotic Dances

Saturday 4 March 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Imperial College Symphony Orchestra Past Event


Kodály Dances of Galánta
Liszt Piano Concerto No. 2
Debussy Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Stravinsky The Firebird Suite (1919)


Bradley Ng piano
Imperial College Symphony Orchestra
Oliver Gooch conductor

We welcome back Imperial College Symphony Orchestra, rightly recognised as one of the finest university orchestras in the UK, for its annual concert at Cadogan Hall.

The programme is framed by two masterworks of the early 20th century: Kodály’s Dances of Galánta take us to the fields of Hungary, echoing sounds of the Romani’s wanderings through Europe; Kodály’s musical compatriot Franz Liszt showcases the virtuosity of young Chinese pianist and Civil Engineer, Bradley Ng, with the exquisitely romantic yet fiery Piano Concerto No. 2.

After the interval, we hear two scores set by the great choreographers of the day, Nijinsky and Diaghilev. Against a hazy backdrop of rushes and reeds, Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi describes a faun waking from a sultry afternoon dream. Boulez described it later as ‘the awakening of modern music’.

The glittering fantasy world of Stravinsky’s 1910 ballet showcases Diaghilev’s chosen mascot, a character from Russian folklore that symbolised rebirth, beauty and magic: the dazzling Firebird.

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

£25, £20, £15

£12 for top-price tickets
£10 for £20 tickets
Senior Citizens/Children: £10

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy