Cellist Gemma Rosefield

The Doctors’ Orchestra

A fundraising concert in aid of Freedom from Torture

Monday 20 September 2021, 19:30 & Monday 20 September 2021, 19:30

Past Event
The Doctors’ Orchestra Past Event


Smetana Overture to The Bartered Bride
Brahms Symphony No. 2
Dvořák Cello Concerto


Gemma Rosefield cello
Stephen Brearley conductor
The Doctors’ Orchestra

The Doctors’ Orchestra’s twelfth concert in support of Freedom from Torture opens with the brilliant Bartered Bride Overture by Bedřich Smetana, the acknowledged ‘father of Czech music’, and concludes with one of the greatest works of the greatest of Czech composers, Antonín Dvořák’s Cello Concerto in B minor.

Between these works comes the reflective Second Symphony of Johannes Brahms, not a Czech but a composer steeped in central European folk music and an admirer and promoter of the music of Dvořák.

The outstanding cellist Gemma Rosefield makes her second appearance with the orchestra in Dvořák’s passionate Concerto, which he composed in the United States but is suffused with longing for his Czech homeland.

Recommended age: 7+

Duration: approx. 2 hours 15 mins (incl. 20-minute interval)

Ticket Information

£32, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Live stream ticket also available – book below.

This event has passed.

View Seating Plan
ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off top two prices

Join Today

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy