Nathan Mierdl

The Doctors’ Orchestra

Monday 19 September 2022, 19:30

Past Event
The Doctors’ Orchestra Past Event


Wagner Overture from Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
Sibelius Violin Concerto
Nielsen Symphony No. 2, ‘The Four Temperaments’


Nathan Mierdl violin*
Stephen Brearley conductor
The Doctors’ Orchestra

(*please note change to previously advertised soloist)

Out of respect for Queen Elizabeth II’s state funeral on Monday 19 September, Freedom from Torture’s concert with The Doctors’ Orchestra has been cancelled. We apologise for any inconvenience and disappointment caused.

The Doctors’ Orchestra, playing once again in support of Freedom from Torture, presents a largely Nordic programme featuring works by Sibelius and Nielsen.

The brilliant young virtuoso Nathan Mierdl, a multiple prize-winner including in the 2018 Yehudi Menuhin International Violin Competition, joins the Orchestra in Sibelius’ rhapsodic and unmistakably Finnish concerto, of which Tovey wrote, “I have not met with a more original, a more masterly and a more exhilarating work than this.”

Nielsen’s Second Symphony, written four years before the Sibelius, wittily portrays the four classical temperaments – choleric, phlegmatic, melancholic and sanguine – but in colourful and truly symphonic style.

These two works are preceded by Wagner’s glorious, if not Nordic, Overture to The Mastersingers.

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. 20-interval)

Ticket Information

£32, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

View Seating Plan

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy