Young Musicians Symphony Orchestra

Young Musicians Symphony Orchestra

Thursday 15 February 2024, 19:30

Past Event
Young Musicians Symphony Orchestra Past Event


Suppé Overture to Pique Dame
Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Shostakovich Symphony No. 5


Deniz Şensoy violin
James Blair conductor
Young Musicians Symphony Orchestra

The third concert of YMSO’s 2023-24 season begins with the captivating Pique Dame Overture by master of light opera Franz von Suppé. The Orchestra is then joined by Turkish violinist Deniz Şensoy in Bruch’s beloved Violin Concerto.

The concert concludes with Shostakovich’s tumultuous Fifth Symphony, a piece written at a time when the composer was out of favour with the authorities. The last movement, although triumphant, reflects Shostakovich’s disdain for a regime that was unable to detect the hollowness and despair behind the bombast of the finale.

The Young Musicians Symphony Orchestra brings together outstanding young players from across the UK, who are on the threshold of their orchestral careers. Every professional orchestra in the UK contains alumni of YMSO, many of whom are section principals.

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

£35, £25, £15

Senior Citizens / Students: half price (not available online)

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

£5 off top price tickets

Join Today

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy