Alexander Sitkovetsky. Photo by Vincy Ng

Brno Philharmonic Orchestra

with Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin

Friday 14 October 2022, 19:30

Prices from £18.00 to £49.00

Brno Philharmonic Orchestra Book Now


Janáček Taras Bulba
Korngold Violin Concerto
Dvořák Symphony No. 9, ‘From the New World’


Dennis Russell Davies conductor
Alexander Sitkovetsky violin*
Brno Philharmonic Orchestra

(*please note change to previously advertised soloist)

The Czech city of Brno has a tremendous musical heritage as both Janáček and Korngold were born and raised there. We’re therefore delighted to welcome the Brno Philharmonic with a performance that includes Taras Bulba by Janáček, who was the founder of the Orchestra.

Acclaimed violinist Alexander Sitkovetsky performs Korngold’s Violin Concerto, and the concert concludes with Dvořak’s ever-popular ‘New World’ Symphony.

‘Giving the music an impassioned and highly energised violin solo was renowned soloist Alexander Sitkovetsky. To say his performance was electric would be an understatement and as he jumped high in the air with his energetic plucking he managed to bring every tiny nuance from this highly emotive piece of writing.’ (performing Britten’s Violin Concerto with Hallé Orchestra/RNCM & Sir Mark Elder, Manchester Salon)

The Zurich International Orchestra Series is sponsored by Zurich.

Ticket Information

£49 (premium), £45, £37, £30, £24, £18

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Book Now View Seating Plan
ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: premium seats for £45, £45 seats for £37

Join Today
Series Discount

Book 2-3 concerts: save 10%
Book 4-6 concerts: save 15%
Book 7-8 concerts: save 20% plus free concert programmes* for each ticket holder

(*free programme excludes Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra concert)

View Series
Group Discount

Group discounts of up to 25% available. See series page for details.

Brno Philharmonic Orchestra

with Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin

Friday 14 October 2022, 19:30

Alexander Sitkovetsky is the soloist in Korngold’s lyrical, virtuosic Violin Concerto before the Orchestra performs Dvořák’s much-loved ‘New World’ Symphony. Janáček's colourful rhapsody Taras Bulba opens the concert.

Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra

with Sunwook Kim, piano

Thursday 27 October 2022, 19:30

The inaugural visit to Cadogan Hall by the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra with conductor Osmo Vänskä performing Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1, with soloist Sunwook Kim, Stravinsky's Firebird Suite and Unsuk Chin's energetic and poetic Frontispie...

Belgian National Orchestra

with Paul Lewis, piano

Thursday 3 November 2022, 19:30

Roberto González-Monjas conducts Saint-Saëns’ masterpiece, the ‘Organ’ Symphony, Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 25 in C, with pianist Paul Lewis, and Respighi's rarely performed Preludio, Corale e Fuga.

Maxim Vengerov Gala Concert

with the Romanian National Philharmonic Orchestra

Monday 5 December 2022, 19:30

Sergey Smbatyan conducts Tchaikovsky's Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture. Celebrated violinist Maxim Vengerov joins them to perform Prokofiev’s glittering Violin Concerto No. 1. Alexey Shor's beautifully sublime Seascapes opens the programme.

Limited Availability
Armenian State Symphony Orchestra

with Jennifer Pike, violin

Friday 24 February 2023, 19:30

We welcome back Jennifer Pike as soloist in Mendelssohn's much-loved Violin Concerto, alongside favourite works from Khachaturian's Spartacus Suites and Tchaikovsky’s epic Fourth Symphony.

Swedish Philharmonia (Gävle Symphony Orchestra)

with Nemanja Radulović, violin

Friday 24 March 2023, 19:30

Jaime Martin conducts Grieg's ever-green Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Sibelius' majestic Symphony No. 2 and Khachaturian’s exhilarating Violin Concerto with the virtuosic Serbian-French violinist Nemanja Radulović.

Iceland Symphony Orchestra

with Stephen Hough, piano

Thursday 20 April 2023, 19:30

Eva Ollikainen conducts Rachmaninov’s beloved Piano Concerto No. 2, with distinguished pianist Stephen Hough, and Tchaikovsky’s mighty Fifth Symphony. Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir's Metacosmos opens the concert.

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

with Freddy Kempf, piano

Wednesday 24 May 2023, 19:30

Freddy Kempf performs Rachmaninov’s virtuosic Third Piano Concerto in a programme also featuring Sibelius’ glorious Fifth Symphony and works by Arvo Pärt and Thea Musgrave.

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy