Qian Junping, Ning Feng and Yang Xuefei

Image China: East Meets West Concert

London Philharmonic Orchestra with Qian Junping, Ning Feng & Yang Xuefei

Thursday 13 April 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Image China: East Meets West Concert Past Event


Wang Xilin The Torch Festival from ‘Symphonic Poem of Yunnan’
Elgar Cockaigne Overture
John Brunning Guitar Concerto Magna Carta – III. Intense and energetic
Arr. Fu Renchang Guitar Concerto: A Lovely Rose
Tan Dun Internet Symphony ‘Eroica’
Zhao Jiping Violin Concerto No. 1*
Zhou Tian Gift

(*change to previously advertised programme)


Qian Junping conductor
Ning Feng violin
Yang Xuefei guitar
London Philharmonic Orchestra

Maestro Qian Junping leads the London Philharmonic Orchestra at this Image China Concert with featured prize-winning soloists Ning Feng and Yang Xuefei.

The programme features celebrated and ground-breaking works by acclaimed Chinese composers Chen Qigang, Tan Dun, Wang Xilin, Zhou Tian, and Fu Renchang alongside Western composers Edward Elgar and John Brunning.

World-renowned soloists Ning Feng and Yang Xuefei take centre stage for contemporary concerti: Zhao Jiping’s First Violin Concerto and two guitar concertos, respectively. Those works incorporate traditional Chinese sounds scored for Western symphony orchestra and Western solo instruments, resulting in modern East-meets-West sonic experiences.

This concert is produced by China Arts and Entertainment Group Ltd (CAEG) and is part of CAEG’s Image China cultural exchange initiative, which seeks to introduce traditional and contemporary Chinese performing arts to audiences around the world.

Ticket Information

£90, £60, £30, £15

Students and Senior Citizens: £5 off

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off

Join Today

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy