London Phoenix Orchestra

London Phoenix Orchestra

Summer Concert

Wednesday 29 June 2022, 19:30

Past Event
London Phoenix Orchestra Past Event


Rossini William Tell Overture
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, ‘Pathétique’


Simon Callaghan piano
London Phoenix Orchestra

Tchaikovsky’s final symphony, premiered just nine days before the composer’s death in 1893, is a subversion of symphonic form, and the culmination of Tchaikovsky’s musical exploration of the inexorability of fate. Its emotional range and depth make it one of the masterpieces of the 19th century. Tchaikovsky himself described it as ‘the best thing I ever composed or shall compose’.

Rossini’s William Tell Overture – “a symphony in four parts”, according to Hector Berlioz – opens the evening, and then London Phoenix Orchestra is joined by acclaimed pianist Simon Callaghan for Rachmaninov’s most popular concerto.

Duration: approx. 2 hours 20 mins (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

£25, £20

Students & Under 18s: pay £18 for all tickets with valid ID on entry

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

View Seating Plan

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy