Alexander Shelley, conductor & Fumiaki Miura, violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Stravinsky’s Firebird, Ravel, Prokofiev & Anna Clyne

Wednesday 9 February 2022, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Anna Clyne This Midnight Hour
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2
Ravel Mother Goose Suite
Stravinsky The Firebird Suite (1919)


Alexander Shelley conductor
Fumiaki Miura violin
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Explore a host of enchanting soundscapes with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s Principal Associate Conductor Alexander Shelley.

Opening tonight’s concert is the 2015 work This Midnight Hour by London-born Anna Clyne – the GRAMMY-nominated composer of acoustic and electro-acoustic music.

The RPO welcomes its 2021/22 Artist-in-Residence Fumiaki Miura for a performance of Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto before we’re whisked off to fairytale lands with Ravel’s magical Mother Goose Suite.

Closing the performance is Stravinsky’s spellbinding The Firebird – telling tales of magical feathers, princesses, princes and palaces.

Duration: approx. 1 hour 45 minutes (incl. 20-min interval)

Ticket Information

£45, £42, £35, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off top three ticket prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts of up to 30% available – see series page for details

View Series
Group Discount

Groups of 6+: save up to 35% – see for details

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy