Jac van Steen & Rosanne Philippens

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony

Thursday 23 February 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Wagner Lohengrin: Prelude to Act I
Korngold Violin Concerto
Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2


Jac van Steen conductor
Rosanne Philippens violin
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Rich colours and tones radiate from a programme of ravishing Romantic music, with the stage set by Wagner’s ethereal Prelude to Lohengrin.

Korngold’s Violin Concerto is filled with Hollywood sheen, but it is hard to know if he drew from themes of film scores or if they drew from this concerto, so big was Korngold’s influence on the sound of Hollywood in the 1930s and 1940s. It is performed tonight, in all its lyrical brilliance, by acclaimed violinist Rosanne Philippens.

Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2 delves into the throes of self-doubt and anguish before emerging into its exquisitely melodious Adagio, and finally bursting into leaps of creative triumph in the grand finale.

“Philippens and the ensemble bring translucent textures, and deftly organic and colourful handling of the music’s sudden textural, timbral and dynamic contrasts” (Gramophone)

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. 20-minute interval)

Ticket Information

£45, £42, £35, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off top three ticket prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts of up to 30% available – see series page for details.

View Series
Group Discount

Groups of 6+ save up to 35% – see the rpo.co.uk/groups for details.

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy