Roderick Cox & Isata Kanneh-Mason

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Isata Kanneh-Mason plays Prokofiev

Thursday 2 March 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Ligeti Concert Românesc
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3
Brahms Symphony No. 1


Roderick Cox conductor
Isata Kanneh-Mason piano (RPO Artist-in-Residence, 2022–23)
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Ligeti’s Concert Românesc adapts the sounds of Romanian folk music from his childhood to the symphonic and opens with an evocation of the iconic alphorn, which could be heard among the Carpathian mountains.

Pianist Isata Kanneh-Mason continues her RPO artistic residency with Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3 – a piece filled with ingenious melodic invention and weaving of its many varied themes, inspired by the composer’s travels.

Written under the long shadow of Beethoven and conducted tonight by Roderick Cox, Brahms’ First Symphony showed that he was a master of the form. With drama and dynamism conjured out of all sections of the orchestra, it leads to a triumphant finale that stamps a resounding seal of the composer’s symphonic prowess.

‘…[Rodrick Cox’s] gestures, even when dramatic, were efficient and tightly controlled, with riveting intensity and focus as a result.’ (Seen and Heard International)

‘[Isata] played beautifully… calmly commanding throughout, she was also unfailingly subtle’ (The New York Times)

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. 20-minute interval)

Ticket Information

£45, £42, £35, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off top three ticket prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts of up to 30% available – see series page for details.

View Series
Group Discount

Groups of 6+ save up to 35% – see the for details.

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy