Elena Schwarz, conductor & Zlatomir Fung, cello

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Elgar’s Cello Concerto

Wednesday 27 September 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Doreen Carwithen Bishop Rock*
Elgar Cello Concerto
Debussy Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Stravinsky The Firebird: Suite (1919)

*Kindly supported by the ABO Trust’s Sirens programme and The William Alwyn Foundation


Elena Schwarz conductor
Zlatomir Fung cello (RPO Artist-in-Residence, 2023-24)
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Demons, seascapes and green English fields – from Elgar’s Cello Concerto to Stravinsky’s The Firebird.

With a burst of flame and a cascade of sparks, the magical Firebird leaps into life. When Igor Stravinsky composed his great ballet, he didn’t just imagine a world of enchanted princesses, courageous heroes and green-clawed demons – he let us hear it too. That is our final destination tonight as conductor Elena Schwarz and the RPO set out on a fantastic musical voyage that opens on the storm-tossed seas of Bishop Rock, before sinking into the embrace of Debussy’s ravishing Prélude.

Along the way, the multi-award-winning young cello virtuoso Zlatomir Fung joins us for Elgar’s autumnal-but-evergreen Cello Concerto. You may already know and love it, but you’ve never heard it played like this.

Ticket Information

£47, £42, £35, £25, £15

Under 18s*: £5 (not available on top-price tickets)

*Children aged 14 years or below must be accompanied by an adult aged 18 years or over.

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off top three ticket prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts of up to 30% available – see series page for details.

View Series
Group Discount

Groups of 6+ save up to 35% – see rpo.co.uk/groups for details.

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy