Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Quintessentially English

Tuesday 9 April 2019, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Delius The Walk to the Paradise Garden

Walton Suite from Henry V

Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 5


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Mark Wigglesworth conductor

Samuel West narrator

Mark Wigglesworth, a notable interpreter of British music, opens the programme of English music with Delius’ gentle tone-poem The Walk to the Paradise Garden. Beginning with beautiful dream-like wind solos, the tranquil mood is soon shifted when Walton’s Suite from Henry V conjures stirring battle scenes. Composed for Lawrence Olivier’s remarkable 1944 film Henry V, this imaginative score fuses romantic tenderness with medieval beauty in a whirl of pure cinematic excitement.

Vaughan Williams’ Fifth Symphony rounds out the concert with some of his most serene music – its pastoral tranquillity is set again against the backdrop of 1940s war-torn Europe.

Ticket Information

£40, £32.50, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

View Seating Plan
ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: £5 off top 3 prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts available – see series page for details

View Series
Group Discount

Group discounts available – see series page for details

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy