Rebecca Afonwy-Jones, mezzo-soprano

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Seeking New Horizons III: Political Protest

Thursday 25 April 2019, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Wagner Overture and Venusberg Music from Tannhäuser

Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

de Falla The Three-Cornered Hat


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Alexander Shelley conductor

Vadym Kholodenko piano

Rebecca Afonwy-Jones mezzo-soprano

The legend that the violin virtuoso Niccolò Paganini sold his soul to the devil in order to become obscenely talented has inspired numerous composers, but one of the finest variations of the theme is considered to be Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, performed by the supremely talented Vadym Kholodenko.

In contrast, Alexander Shelley opens the programme by delving into the exhilarating world of Wagner, whilst Manuel de Falla’s The Three-Cornered Hat provides a thrilling climax.

We invite you to enjoy an enhanced listening experience using EnCue, a downloadable app that delivers programme notes to your mobile or tablet device. For more information, please visit

EnCue logo

Ticket Information

£40, £32.50, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: £5 off top 3 prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts available – see series page for details

View Series
Group Discount

Group discounts available – see series page for details

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: Seeking New Horizons
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra 2018-19 Resident Season

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy