Jennifer Pike, violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Seeking New Horizons II: New Discoveries

Thursday 28 February 2019, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Stravinsky Suites Nos. 1 and 2 for small orchestra

Korngold Violin Concerto

Dvořák Symphony No. 9 (From the New World)


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Alexander Shelley conductor

Jennifer Pike violin

Dvořák left his native Bohemia in 1892, to seek new opportunities in the USA, marking one of the most productive periods of his career and resulting in his ‘New World’ Symphony, a work imbued with native American music.

Korngold’s foray into Hollywood film music can be traced through the rich powerful lyricism of his Violin Concerto, performed by British violinist Jennifer Pike.

During exile in Switzerland, Stravinsky wrote his two Suites for Small Orchestra, providing exquisite and delightful miniatures that have an infectious rhythmic drive and draw their influences from the Classical period.

We invite you to enjoy an enhanced listening experience using EnCue, a downloadable app that delivers programme notes to your mobile or tablet device. For more information, please visit

EnCue logo

Ticket Information

£40, £32.50, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: £5 off top 3 prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts available – see series page for details

View Series
Group Discount

Group discounts available – see series page for details

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: Seeking New Horizons
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra 2018-19 Resident Season

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy