Kian Soltani, cello & Alexander Shelley, conductor

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Shostakovich 360°

Thursday 28 November 2019, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Glazunov First Concert Waltz
Prokofiev Sinfonia Concertante
Borodin Prince Igor – Polovtsian Dances
Shostakovich Symphony No. 9


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Kian Soltani cello (RPO Artist in Residence 2019)
Alexander Shelley conductor

Inspired by his teachers Borodin and Glazunov, the opening concert of the 360° series features Shostakovich and the works that were instrumental in forming the radical Russian composer’s music, presented and conducted by RPO Principal Associate Conductor Alexander Shelley.

Whilst Borodin and Glazunov demonstrate the rich Russian traditions produced in the 19th century, it is perhaps with Shostakovich’s contemporary Prokofiev that comparisons are most readily drawn. Prokofiev enjoyed popularity in his day as a modern, adaptable voice that in works such as his Sinfonia Concertante, written for cello and orchestra, resonates with a unique versatility of tone, expression and technical challenge. Shostakovich’s legacy has taken a different course of a composer heavily affected by political demand. In navigating the harsh realities of the Second World War and appeasement of the Soviet regime came his Symphony No. 9, an abstract expression of hope for a nation ravaged by war.

This concert is preceded by an RPO Prelude at 6.15pm.

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

£40, £32.50, £25, £15

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

View Seating Plan
ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: £5 off top 3 prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts available – see series page for details

View Series
Group Discount

Groups of 6+ save up to 35% – see RPO website for details

Kian Soltani talks Elgar & Prokofiev

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: 360° series
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra 2019-20 Resident Season

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy