The Purcell School Symphony Orchestra

The Purcell School Symphony Orchestra

Monday 27 June 2022, 19:30

Past Event
The Purcell School Symphony Orchestra Past Event


Philip Theodorou Blue Speck WP
Copland Clarinet Concerto
Bernstein West Side Story Suite for Symphonic Winds
Dvořák Symphony No. 9, ‘From the New World’


Lily Payne clarinet
Ryan Hepburn conductor
Paul Hoskins conductor
The Purcell School Symphony Orchestra

Copland and Bernstein were without question two of the greatest American composers of the 20th century, and the two pieces played here date from 1950 and 1957. Both composers looked at various points in their lives to Europe for inspiration, for teachers, and for work.

Copland wrote his Clarinet Concerto for the jazz musician Benny Goodman, and the jazz-inflected colours of Bernstein’s score are all the more vibrant in this arrangement for symphonic winds.

Dvořák was a pioneering European celebrity who, 60 years earlier, travelled from central Europe to New York to be Director of the National Conservatory for Music in New York. His ‘New World’ Symphony combines Czech and indigenous American folk tunes, painting a masterful picture of drama and nostalgia.

The concert opens with a new work for orchestra with voices, by Purcell student Philip Theodorou.

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

£20, £17.50, £15, £12.50

Students & Under 18s: £5 off
Purcell School alumni: 50% off (using promo code)

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: £5 off

Join Today

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy