Osmo Vänskä & Sunwook Kim

Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra

with Sunwook Kim, piano

Thursday 27 October 2022, 19:30

Past Event
Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1
Unsuk Chin Frontispiece for orchestra (2019) (UK premiere)
Stravinsky The Firebird Suite (1919)


Osmo Vänskä conductor
Sunwook Kim piano
Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra

A tour-de-force concerto that will leave you breathless, Tchaikovsky’s romantic piano concerto opens this inaugural visit from the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra with soloist Sunwook Kim.

Sunwook came to international recognition when he won the prestigious Leeds International Piano Competition in 2006 (aged just 18) becoming the competition’s youngest winner for 40 years.

The energetic and poetic, seven-minute Frontispiece for orchestra by Unsuk Chin (the dazzlingly original musical mind behind the opera Alice in Wonderland) precedes what many consider the ultimate fairy-tale ballet score, Stravinsky’s The Firebird Suite.

The Firebird Suite confirms without doubt that this orchestra, under Music Director Osmo Vänskä, delivers powerful performances on concert platforms across the globe, earning acclaim and supporters wherever they go.

‘Vänskä isn’t only about meticulous preparation. In concert he’s a wiry dynamo: lean, whippy and indefatigably energetic. His interpretations are the same. He never stops probing and pushing.’ (The Times on Osmo Vänskä)

This concert forms part of the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra’s European tour this October, its first since its Russian tour in 2019, which sees it perform at the Großes Festspielhaus in Salzburg, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Musikverein in Vienna and finally here at Cadogan Hall.

The Zurich International Orchestra Series is sponsored by Zurich.

Ticket Information

£49 (premium), £45, £37, £30, £24, £18

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

View Seating Plan
ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: premium seats for £45, £45 seats for £37

Join Today
Series Discount

Book 2-3 concerts: save 10%
Book 4-6 concerts: save 15%
Book 7-8 concerts: save 20% plus free concert programmes* for each ticket holder

(*free programme excludes Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra concert)

View Series
Group Discount

Group discounts of up to 25% available. See series page for details.

Maxim Vengerov Gala Concert

with the Romanian National Philharmonic Orchestra

Monday 5 December 2022, 19:30

Sergey Smbatyan conducts Tchaikovsky's Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture. Celebrated violinist Maxim Vengerov joins them to perform Prokofiev’s glittering Violin Concerto No. 1 and Alexey Shor's beautifully sublime Seascapes. Sibelius' Karelia Suit...

More Info Sold Out
Armenian State Symphony Orchestra

with Jennifer Pike, violin

Friday 24 February 2023, 19:30

We welcome back Jennifer Pike as soloist in Mendelssohn's much-loved Violin Concerto, alongside favourite works from Khachaturian's Spartacus Suites and Tchaikovsky’s epic Fourth Symphony.

Swedish Philharmonia (Gävle Symphony Orchestra)

with Nemanja Radulović, violin

Friday 24 March 2023, 19:30

Jaime Martin conducts Grieg's ever-green Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Sibelius' majestic Symphony No. 2 and Khachaturian’s exhilarating Violin Concerto with the virtuosic Serbian-French violinist Nemanja Radulović.

Iceland Symphony Orchestra

with Stephen Hough, piano

Thursday 20 April 2023, 19:30

Eva Ollikainen conducts Rachmaninov’s beloved Piano Concerto No. 2, with distinguished pianist Stephen Hough, and Tchaikovsky’s mighty Fifth Symphony. Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir's Metacosmos opens the concert.

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

with Freddy Kempf, piano

Wednesday 24 May 2023, 19:30

Freddy Kempf performs Rachmaninov’s virtuosic Third Piano Concerto in a programme also featuring Sibelius’ glorious Fifth Symphony and works by Arvo Pärt and Thea Musgrave.

National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

Thursday 19 October 2023, 19:30

The NSOU, recognised as one of the finest symphony orchestras in Eastern Europe, returns to the UK for the first time in over 20 years with a rich programme of music by Richard Strauss, Bruch, Sibelius and Lyatoshynsky, regarded as the father of Ukra...

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy