Mark Bebbington, piano

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven’s ‘Emperor’ Concerto

Monday 20 May 2024, 19:30

Past Event
Czech National Symphony Orchestra Past Event


Delius The Walk to the Paradise Garden
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5, ‘Emperor’
Smetana Má vlast – Vltava (The Moldau)
Dvořák Symphony No. 8


Steven Mercurio conductor
Mark Bebbington piano
Czech National Symphony Orchestra

We’re very pleased to be presenting again our old friends the Czech National Symphony Orchestra. Its American Music Director Steven Mercurio will begin the concert with the atmospheric symphonic poem from Delius’ opera A Village Romeo and JulietThe Walk to the Paradise Garden.

After this, the acclaimed pianist Mark Bebbington will play Beethoven’s grand ‘Emperor’ Concerto and in the second half the Orchestra will perform two much-loved Czech favourites – Smetana’s evocative The Moldau and Dvořák’s exuberant and gloriously tuneful Eighth Symphony.

‘…the lava tumbles out with astonishing force from Mark Bebbington, who plays with tremendous authority…’ BBC Music Magazine

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

Tickets from £18 (all prices subject to change)

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

£5 off the top two prices, plus discounted programmes

Join Today
Series Discount

Book 3–5 concerts and save 10%
Book 6–8 concerts and save 15%
Book 9+ concerts and save 20%

View Series
Group Discount

Book 10 or more tickets and save 10%
Book 20-29 tickets and save 15%
Book 30 or more tickets and save 20%

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy