Oleksii Semenenko, violin. Photo by Alexander Basta.

National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

Thursday 19 October 2023, 19:30

Prices from £18.00 to £69.00

Book Now Limited Availability
National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine Book Now


Strauss Don Juan
Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Sibelius Finlandia
Lyatoshynsky Symphony No. 2


Volodymyr Sirenko conductor
Oleksii Semenenko violin
National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

The National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine has long been one of the most distinguished European orchestras, achieving worldwide recognition through its many international tours which include Australia, the US, Europe and Asia.

It has announced it will return to the UK for the first time in over 20 years this autumn with a rich programme of music by Richard Strauss, Bruch, Sibelius, and Ukrainian composer Borys Lyatoshynsky.

Richard Strauss is most well-known for his collection of great tone poems, of which Don Juan is perhaps the most exuberant and best loved by concert audiences. Composed in 1888, it is a work by a young man at the top of his form; a life-affirming inclusion in this programme.

Bruch belongs to that small group of composers who are really only known for one work – the Violin Concerto in G minor. But what a work it is, perhaps the most performed of all violin concertos, simply – and justifiably – because it is beloved by audiences the world over for its poetic beauty, deeply moving melodies and elegant musicality. Almost all violinists include this great Concerto in their repertoire and with good reason.

Sibelius wrote his patriotic Finlandia in response to the Russian invasion of his own beloved country. It is therefore understandable that Ukrainian musicians identify with this work of resolute defiance. It is aptly chosen for inclusion in this programme and we look forward to the NSOU’s heartfelt performance.

Boris Lyatoshynsky who died in 1968 is regarded as the father of Ukrainian contemporary music. His Second Symphony is a particularly fine work and in its dramatic accessibility is a major statement of Ukrainian national solidarity.

‘We are deeply grateful to the UK venues and tour promoters who are working with us to ensure this ambitious tour happens. We can’t wait to return to the UK after more than two decades and have the opportunity to perform to UK audiences all over the country.’ (Alexander Hornostai, NSOU managing director and producer)

Ticket Information

Tickets from £18

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Book Now View Seating Plan
ENCORE Membership Discount

£5 off the top two prices, plus discounted programmes

Join Today
Series Discount

Book 3–5 concerts and save 10%
Book 6–8 concerts and save 15%
Book 9+ concerts and save 20%

View Series
Group Discount

Book 10 or more tickets and save 10%
Book 20-29 tickets and save 15%
Book 30 or more tickets and save 20%


Basel Chamber Orchestra

with Angela Hewitt, piano

Tuesday 3 October 2023, 19:30

Angela Hewitt performs two piano concerto masterpieces – Mozart’s lyrical Concerto No. 14 in E flat and Bach’s majestic D-minor Concerto. Vaughan Williams' much-loved Tallis Fantasia, Shostakovich's Chamber Symphony, the orchestration of his se...

National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

Thursday 19 October 2023, 19:30

The NSOU, recognised as one of the finest symphony orchestras in Eastern Europe, returns to the UK for the first time in over 20 years with a rich programme of music by Richard Strauss, Bruch, Sibelius, and Lyatoshynsky who is regarded as the father...

Limited Availability
Symphony Orchestra of India

Strauss, Hussain & Stravinsky

Thursday 30 November 2023, 19:30

A suite of orchestral music from Richard Strauss’ opulent opera Der Rosenkavalier and a 20th-century masterpiece by Stravinsky, Petrushka. Master tabla player Zakir Hussain joins them to perform his specially commissioned Triple Concerto.

Symphony Orchestra of India

From Wagner to Williams

Friday 8 December 2023, 19:30

John Williams’ grand Imperial March from Star Wars is followed by Brahms’ virtuosic Second Piano Concerto with soloist Pavel Kolesnikov. The second half features a suite of music from Wagner’s last, great opera, Parsifal.

Miloš & Arcangelo Ensemble

Baroque masterpieces

Wednesday 17 January 2024, 19:30

A celebration of Baroque masterpieces by Vivaldi, Marcello, Boccherini, Bach, Pachelbel, Rameau, Weiss, and Couperin by virtuoso guitarist Miloš and the award-winning, internationally-acclaimed period performance ensemble Arcangelo.

Strasbourg Philharmonic

French masterpieces

Tuesday 13 February 2024, 19:30

Making its Cadogan Hall debut, the Strasbourg Philharmonic performs four masterpieces from the French repertoire by Berlioz, Franck and Ravel. Nikolai Lugansky joins them to perform Rachmaninov's beloved Piano Concerto No. 2.

China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra

From China to Rome

Wednesday 13 March 2024, 19:30

One of China’s most exciting orchestras performs two of Respighi's monumental tone poems, Fountains of Rome and Pines of Rome. In the first half the brilliant young violinist Tamsin Waley-Cohen joins them for works by Chausson and Saint-Saëns.

Orchestre de l’Entente Cordiale

A celebration of Anglo-French relations

Tuesday 9 April 2024, 19:30

This ensemble of brilliant, young British and French musicians performs works by Elgar (the Cello Concerto, with soloist Laura van der Heijden, and a Pomp & Circumstance March) and an all-French second half of music by Debussy, Satie and Poulenc.

More Info Cancelled
Dresden Philharmonic

Tchaikovsky’s ‘Pathétique’

Monday 15 April 2024, 19:30

Perhaps the most poignant and tragic of all symphonies, Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony, the ‘Pathétique’, is preceded by Mussorgsky's evocative Prelude to Khovanshchina, and Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto, with soloist Maria Ioudenitch....

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven’s ‘Emperor’ Concerto

Monday 20 May 2024, 19:30

Beethoven’s grand ‘Emperor’ Concerto, with soloist Mark Bebbington, and two much-loved Czech favourites – Smetana’s Vltava from The Moldau and Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8. Copland’s delightful Appalachian Spring opens the concert.

Flanders Symphony Orchestra

Mozart Requiem

Friday 21 June 2024, 19:30

A moving end to our 2023-24 season with one of the greatest of all choral works, Mozart’s Requiem. The first half features Beethoven's sparkling Eighth Symphony and Mozart's dramatic Overture to Don Giovanni.

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy