Alpesh Chauhan, conductor. Photo courtesy Maggio Musicale.

Symphony Orchestra of India

Strauss, Hussain & Stravinsky

Thursday 30 November 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Symphony Orchestra of India Past Event


Strauss Der Rosenkavalier Suite
Zakir Hussain Triple Concerto
Stravinsky Petrushka


Alpesh Chauhan conductor
Zakir Hussain tabla
Niladri Kumar sitar
Rakesh Chaurasia bansuri
Symphony Orchestra of India

We are very pleased to welcome back, after its last visit to Cadogan Hall in February 2019, the Symphony Orchestra of India. The first of this pair of concerts will be conducted by the brilliant young British conductor of Indian descent Alpesh Chauhan.

The concert begins with a suite of orchestral music from Richard Strauss’ opulent opera Der Rosenkavalier and the concert will end with one of the great 20th-century masterpieces by Stravinsky with its surging rhythms and vivid colours, Petrushka.

The concert will also feature perhaps the greatest musician in the Indian classical tradition, the tabla player Zakir Hussain. Together with Niladri Kumar on sitar and Rakesh Chaurasia on bansuri, he will perform a work commissioned especially for this tour, his exciting Triple Concerto.

‘One was left in no doubt about the impact of this symphony. It was a staggering performance… Chauhan is a phenomenal talent…’ In Daily

Pre-show meal at Lórian Deli

For this performance a pre-show 2-course meal at local neighbourhood restaurant Lórian is available. You can book a table when booking your tickets.

Read more about the restaurant and the offer.


Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

Tickets from £18 (all prices subject to change)

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

£5 off the top two prices, plus discounted programmes

Join Today
Series Discount

Book 3–5 concerts and save 10%
Book 6–8 concerts and save 15%
Book 9+ concerts and save 20%

View Series
Group Discount

Book 10 or more tickets and save 10%
Book 20-29 tickets and save 15%
Book 30 or more tickets and save 20%

Flanders Symphony Orchestra

Mozart’s Requiem

Friday 21 June 2024, 19:30

A moving end to our 2023-24 season with one of the greatest of all choral works, Mozart’s Requiem. The first half features Beethoven's sparkling Eighth Symphony and Mozart's dramatic Overture to Don Giovanni.

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy