Valery Gergiev. Photo by Alberto Venzago

Mariinsky Orchestra 2

Valery Gergiev conducts

Tuesday 8 October 2019, 19:30

Past Event
Mariinsky Orchestra 2 Past Event


Berlioz Romeo and Juliet (excerpts)
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1
Rimsky-Korsakov The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh and the Maiden Fevroniya (Suite)


Mariinsky Orchestra
Mao Fujita
piano (Silver Medal winner for Piano, XVI International Tchaikovsky Competition, UK debut)
Valery Gergiev conductor

Valery Gergiev brings his prized Mariinsky Orchestra to Cadogan Hall for a pair of concerts celebrating the best upcoming talent and marking the 150th anniversary of Berlioz’s death. Each date features a different soloist winner from the prestigious XVI International Tchaikovsky Competition of which Gergiev is Co-Chair.

This programme highlights the dramatic capabilities of the Mariinsky Orchestra, with excerpts from Berlioz’s Romeo and Juliet, and the Suite from Rimsky-Korsakov’s rarely performed The Legend of the invisible City of Kitezh and the Maiden Fevroniya.

‘The depth of sound from the Mariinsky players… was almost edible. Sometimes Russians just do it better.’ (The Times)

The Zurich International Orchestra Series is sponsored by Zurich.

Duration: approx. 2 hours 15 mins (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

£45 (premium), £42, £35, £28, £22, £18

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: premium seats for £42, £42 seats for £35

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts of up to 20% available – see series page for details

View Series
Group Discount

Group discounts of up to 25% available – see series page for details

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy