Amanda Forsyth

Beethoven: The Revolutionary – Chamber Concert III

Friday 26 June 2020, 13:00

Past Event
Beethoven: The Revolutionary – Chamber Concert III Past Event


Beethoven Duet for Viola and Cello in E flat major, ‘With Two Eyeglasses Obbligato’
Beethoven Septet for Winds and Strings in E flat major, Op. 20


Pinchas Zukerman viola
Amanda Forsyth cello
RPO Chamber Players

We regret to inform you that this performance has been cancelled. We are doing our utmost to support the national effort in reducing the spread of coronavirus and the health and well-being of all our visitors, staff members and visiting performers is our number one priority.

Ticket holders are fully covered for the full value of their tickets and will be contacted shortly. Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to welcoming you on future occasions.

A note from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra:

“Following the Government’s announcement encouraging social distancing, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO) will cease its concert programme until the end of June 2020. Given the health risks presented by the spread of the coronavirus pandemic, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is acutely aware of the need to protect the health of concert-goers, venue staff and the ensemble itself.

With millions of people self-isolating and working from home, the RPO will soon be introducing a comprehensive ‘RPO At Home’ digital programme that is intended to enrich people’s home routines, to help lift spirits during these unprecedented times.

Please do keep in touch by visiting the Orchestra’s website and social media channels, where you can find videos, blogs and Podcasts.”

Players from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra join Pinchas Zukerman and Amanda Forsyth for an evening of sublime chamber music.

An early work of Beethoven’s that was not discovered in its entirety until the mid-20th century, his Duet for Viola and Cello exudes a buoyant lyricism in the first movement with the dialogue between the two instruments, before concluding with delicacy and finesse in the concluding Minuetto.

The Septet in E flat major, composed at the turn of the 19th century, took the divergent approach of scoring the music for a single clarinet, horn and bassoon alongside the strings, rather than pairs of woodwind. Regarded as one of Beethoven’s most enduring chamber works, the Septet achieves a sense of intimacy and warmth in a large-scale piece that predates the grandeur of his symphonic music.

Duration: approx. 1 hour

Ticket Information


All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

View Seating Plan
Series Discount

Day Pass and Festival Package tickets available – see series page for details

View Series

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy