Black & white photo of Benjamin Beilman holding his violin. Photo by Sophie Zhai.

London Chamber Orchestra

The One With Benjamin Beilman

Friday 24 November 2023, 19:30

Price: £ 30.00

London Chamber Orchestra Book Now


Caroline Shaw Entr’acte
Stravinsky Concerto in D for string orchestra
J.S. Bach Violin Concerto in E major, BWV 1042
Copland Appalachian Spring Suite


Benjamin Beilman director/violin
London Chamber Orchestra

We thought about calling this concert The ‘Monstrously Talented’ Mr Beilman, not because it relates to a Patricia Highsmith novel (though there’ll be plenty of slaying by Benjamin Beilman on his “Ysaÿe” Guarneri del Gesù violin from 1740), but so we could use one of our favourite quotes about this amazing violinist.

We first collaborated with Ben back in 2016 and we’re happy to be back together for a concert that he’ll direct and perform the solo part in Bach’s Violin Concerto.

The concert starts with Entr’acte by the American composer Caroline Shaw who moves between musical genres, winning awards and accolades left, right and centre.

The larger-than-life Igor Stravinsky wrote his Concerto for string orchestra after moving to Hollywood in the golden age of the 1940s. Meanwhile, over on the East Coast, Aaron Copland was writing Appalachian Spring which went on to earn him a Pulitzer Prize for music.

Duration: approx. 1 hour 30 mins (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

All tickets £30 (unreserved seating)

Free tickets for Under 18s (must be accompanied by an adult, maximum four free Under 18 tickets per adult – not available online)

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Book Now View Seating Plan
Series Discount

Book all three LCO & Friends concerts and save 15%

View Series
London Chamber Orchestra

The One With Lucienne Renaudin Vary

Thursday 28 September 2023, 19:30

Experience the exceptional talent of trumpet sensation Lucienne Renaudin Vary as she performs two celebrated and contrasting works for trumpet – Haydn's famous Trumpet Concerto and Efrain Oscher's vibrant Rapsodia Latina, with its Latin American gr...

London Chamber Orchestra

The One With Ksenija Sidorova

Tuesday 17 October 2023, 19:30

Accordionist-extraordinaire Ksenija Sidorova joins the LCO to explore 18th-century rockstar J.S. Bach's influence. including the UK premiere of Sergey Akhunov's Chaconne, plus an electric LCO performance of Bach's iconic Brandenburg Concerto No. 3.

London Chamber Orchestra

The One With Benjamin Beilman

Friday 24 November 2023, 19:30

‘Monstrously talented’ Benjamin Beilman directs the LCO from the violin in a programme of award-winning music for strings from both sides of the Atlantic including Caroline Shaw's Entr’acte, masterpieces by Bach and Stravinsky, and Copland’s...

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy