Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Silver Jubilee Gala

Tuesday 23 May 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Mozart Ch’io mi scordi di te?
Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor
John Rutter Anniversary Greeting for the OPO (world premiere)*
Symphony No. 7


Marios Papadopoulos piano/conductor
John Rutter conductor*
Sophie Bevan soprano
Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

The Seventh is Beethoven’s most fascinating symphony – a work whose new vision of rhythm’s relationship with harmony produced the most physical, compelling music that had ever been created. Beethoven wasn’t just exploring new techniques, he was giving voice to a wave of joy that had swept into his life and filled him with determination and optimism.

Before it, we hear Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor which sees the composer begin his transformation of the piano concerto from entertaining diversion to engrossing narrative experience, and a new work celebrating the Orchestra’s 25th birthday by the nation’s favourite composer, John Rutter.

Marios Papadopoulos is conductor and soloist for this visit to Cadogan Hall in celebration of the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra’s Silver Jubilee Year.

Duration: approx. 1 hour 50 mins (incl. Interval)

Ticket Information

£45, £42, £35, £25, £15

Concessions (not available online):
• Under 18s: half price
• Students/Unemployment Benefit Claimant: £5 off all tickets

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off top price tickets

Join Today

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy