Leslie Suganandarajah, conductor & Fumiaki Miura, violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto

Wednesday 18 October 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Past Event


Louise Farrenc Overture No. 1
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
Brahms Symphony No. 4


Leslie Suganandarajah conductor
Fumiaki Miura
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, Brahms’ Fourth, and pure drama from Louise Farrenc.

Although they called her the ‘female Beethoven’, the 19th-century French composer Louise Farrenc was very much her own woman, and only now in the 21st century are we rediscovering her ardently romantic, strikingly original music. Tonight, her stirring Overture is the gateway to a concert charged with poetry and emotion.

Violinist Fumiaki Miura is a real favourite with RPO audiences, and tonight he makes a very welcome return with Mendelssohn’s gloriously sweet and songful Violin Concerto.

We then voyage on into the raging storms and sunset colours of Brahms’ mighty final symphony, navigated by guest conductor Leslie Suganandarajah, Music Director of the Salzburg Landestheater.

RPO Annual Legacy Giving concert

Ticket Information

£47, £42, £35, £25, £15

Under 18s*: £5 (not available on top-price tickets)

*Children aged 14 years or below must be accompanied by an adult aged 18 years or over.

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE members: £5 off top three ticket prices

Join Today
Series Discount

Series discounts of up to 30% available – see series page for details.

View Series
Group Discount

Groups of 6+ save up to 35% – see rpo.co.uk/groups for details.

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy