The 23

‘The 23’ String Orchestra

Debut performance

Tuesday 17 September 2019, 19:30

Past Event
‘The 23’ String Orchestra Past Event


Elgar Serenade for Strings
Shostakovich (arr. Barshai) Chamber Symphony, Op 110a
Janáček Suite for Strings
Elgar Introduction and Allegro for Strings


The 23 String Orchestra
Paul Barritt leader
David Cutts conductor

This is the first concert by the newly-formed orchestra ‘The 23’ dedicated to the string orchestra repertoire.

This is great music, often appearing in the shadow of larger orchestral works. The aim of the founder of The 23, conductor David Cutts, working in conjunction with chamber musician and leader Paul Barritt, is to bring this great music to the concert hall with fine players and sufficient rehearsal to reveal it well.

The works in this programme include two of Elgar’s masterpieces from 1892 and 1905 framing Janáček’s youthful but enchanting Suite from 1877 and Barshai’s arrangement for string orchestra of Shostakovich’s most played quartet, the Eighth. This piece is highly personal and dedicated “to the victims of fascism and the war”. It was written in an intense three days in Dresden and premiered in 1960. The string orchestra version brings it even greater intensity.

Duration: approx. 1½ hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

£40, £30, £20, £10

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

ENCORE Members: £5 off top price tickets

Join Today

Keep up to date with events, news and opportunities to support Cadogan Hall.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy