Daye Lin

China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra

From China to Rome

Wednesday 13 March 2024, 19:30

Past Event
China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra Past Event


Tan Dun Excerpts from Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Chausson Poème*
Saint-Saëns Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso*
Respighi Fountains of Rome
Respighi Pines of Rome


Daye Lin conductor
Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin*
Jiapeng Nie cello
China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra

We’re delighted to have in our Zurich International Orchestra Series one of Asia’s most revered orchestras, the China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra, on its debut UK tour performing a fantastically wide-ranging and impressive programme that unusually features both film and orchestral music.

Appropriately, the concert includes the UK’s first live orchestral performances since its release over 20 years ago of film score excerpts composed by leading Chinese/American composer Tan Dun from the Academy Award-winning hit movie Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, which blends Chinese ceremonial and classical music together in action-packed drama.

Yhe Orchestra is joined by the brilliant young British violinist Tamsin Waley-Cohen in two masterworks for orchestra and violin including Chausson’s Poème, a fantastical story about a woman seduced by a former lover with an enchanted violin.

The second half features two of Respighi’s magnificent tone poems. These lavishly orchestrated tone poems written for a large orchestra capture the very essence of Rome with vivid portraits of bustling city streets, pastoral scenes, pines against a moonlit sky, and the marching tread of a Roman army along the Appian Way.

‘Tamsin Waley-Cohen tailored her sound to every aspect of the concerto’s musical landscape’ The Times

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

Tickets from £18 (all prices subject to change)

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

£5 off the top two prices, plus discounted programmes

Join Today
Series Discount

Book 3–5 concerts and save 10%
Book 6–8 concerts and save 15%
Book 9+ concerts and save 20%

View Series
Group Discount

Book 10 or more tickets and save 10%
Book 20-29 tickets and save 15%
Book 30 or more tickets and save 20%

Watch China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra perform excerpts of Respighi's Pines of Rome

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy