Richard Farnes, conductor. Photo by Jack Liebeck.

Symphony Orchestra of India

From Wagner to Williams

Friday 8 December 2023, 19:30

Past Event
Symphony Orchestra of India Past Event


John Williams The Imperial March from Star Wars
Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2
Wagner Parsifal Suite


Richard Farnes conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov piano
Symphony Orchestra of India

In the second of its two concerts, the Symphony Orchestra of India will be conducted by the eminent Wagner conductor Richard Farnes who will perform in the second half a specially arranged suite constructed by Andrew Gourlay featuring the profound and emotive music from Wagner’s last, great opera, Parsifal.

The first half of the concert will begin with John Williams’ grand Imperial March from Star Wars and will be followed by Pavel Kolesnikov’s interpretation of Brahms’ virtuosic Second Piano Concerto, one of the most challenging works in the piano repertoire.

‘Conductor Richard Farnes focused on accuracy and detail in the orchestra and paced [the opera] with a sure sense of direction’ Financial Times

Duration: approx. 2 hours (incl. interval)

Ticket Information

Tickets from £18 (all prices subject to change)

All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See booking information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Check out the view from your chosen seat on our interactive seating plan.

This event has passed.

ENCORE Membership Discount

£5 off the top two prices, plus discounted programmes

Join Today
Series Discount

Book 3–5 concerts and save 10%
Book 6–8 concerts and save 15%
Book 9+ concerts and save 20%

View Series
Group Discount

Book 10 or more tickets and save 10%
Book 20-29 tickets and save 15%
Book 30 or more tickets and save 20%

Join our email mailing list to be the first to hear about new events and for access to pre-sale tickets.

Join our Mailing List

View our privacy policy